Paintings of my travels

I find painting slightly tedious, enriching and very therapeutic at the same time. It’s a form of meditation, putting me in a trance of absolute focus and there’s nothing quite like the feeling of exhilaration when I know it’s going right. The below are mainly of places I’ve been. Click on the links for accommodation, bars and some other bits and pieces.

This one’s my favourite. It’s from a photo I took when travelling through Australia in an adapted ute. I was sleeping in the back of it, driving through desert, taking photos of the breathtaking scenery. Red Bluff is spectacularly isolated and seriously rugged. It’s in Western Australia, 140km north of Carnarvon. If you ever wanted to see the dramatic blow holes and enormous, green glassy waves then you could stay in these rather nice ocean view retreats which are luxurious, but still close to nature: Red Bluff Accommodation There is a range of budget options too, just click on the accommodation tab.

Red Bluff, Australia

My friend Rosie met her husband for their first date on the bench in this painting when they were still at school. I painted this for their wedding present.

Rosie's church

I lived in Stockholm for a year and one day a flyer from an electricity supplier came through my door. It showed such a striking view that I decided to paint it. The view looks north from the more bohemian island in Stockholm, Södermalm, just near the wonderful Södra Teatern. Literally translated it means Southern Theatre, but the establishment is not simply a playhouse, it has a terrace bar with stunning views, a trendy basement bar that plays all sorts of music from drum and bass to indie, a gig venue and a selection of menus. Definitely worth a visit: Södra Teatern.

Stockholm at night from Södermalm

It’s not only exotic climes that enjoy dramatic sun-scapes. One sunrise, I quietly let myself out of my Aunt Sue’s house in Suffolk to take photos of the enormous skies and silent, silhouetted arable fields. The tiny village of Mendham sits on the Norfolk/Suffolk border and has one pub called Sir Alfred Munnings (Munnings was an artist born in the village in 1878). It was taken over recently and has reopened this summer with a total refurbishment and the most delicious menu. I’ve eaten there twice and highly recommend it, the roasts are immense in every sense of the word.

Suffolk Sunrise

The most easterly point of Australia is at Byron Bay, which also happens to be my favourite place in the world (and pictured below). Not only does it see the country’s first sunrise, you can also see the sun set from this magical town’s curved bay, both reflected in the ocean. Its mix of hippy life, backpackers and chic second homers from Sydney give the place a spiritual feel, crazy nightlife and fantastic restaurants. It’s also a gigging hotspot and on top of all this it hosts three of the best beaches I’ve ever visited. Perhaps I should also mention the backdrop of lush hills and tea tree lakes. The Arts Factory is a pretty cool hostel. The Buddha Bar there has a cinema with cow print sofas and the nightlife is pretty fantastic as it’s a little out of town. Watch out for the mosquitos though… Byron’s a novice surfer’s paradise. Go to Black Dog Surfing for a lesson, those guys are amazing and will get you standing in your first hour. If you get anything out of this blog, it should be this: GO TO BYRON BAY!

Lookout point at the most easterly tip of Australia - Byron Bay

Right, there’s a post coming up of my drawings, but for now. I’ve got to eat my dinner.

