A walk in Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park, Australia

Imagine a giant flooded river valley with the folding mountains covered in thick rainforest bush. It’s amazing here in New South Wales, about 25k north of Sydney. We’re staying with friends in Berowra who took us first to the little town of Brooklyn and then for some walks in the Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park.

Big waters

Fatties waiting for the fishermen who chuck them the little fish

In this tiny town, next to the Thai, is Broken Spines. My dream second hand bookshop where I picked up a F Scott Fitzgerald I hadn't read - This Side of Paradise. Will finish Love in a Cold Climate by the wondrous Nancy Mitford first. Something else to look forward to!

There have been unseasonably heavy rains here so the rivers are brown with run off water and silt.

In Australia, trees have feet

I love the gum trees here, their bark is so beautiful. This is a Sydney Red Gum.

We took a boardwalk through some mangroves and below us were thousands and thousands of tiny little cute crabs

Dad in his Australian hat, Rosemary one of my mum's old school-friends, Andy and me.

 

