There’s a whale in Uluru (Ayers Rock)…if you look closely

Bronson and I got married last month and although we had a European honeymoon, we thought we’d sneak in an Australian one too. It doubled up as honeymoon #2 and an ‘educate-the-English-girl-in-the-culture,-history-and-amazing-stuff-of-her-new-country’ trip. Of course we went to Uluru (Ayers Rock, but you call it by the Aboriginal name now). As a school teacher who’d leapt at the chance to tour guide a load of teenagers around his country a grand total of five times, I had the ideal man by my side. He showed me all the beautiful, weird and wonderful shapes in the giant boulder of Uluru. Most of them were whales and waves. We came back on Saturday and here are a few postcard sized drawings I’ve done of the place. There are two photos below them to show you what it really looked like!

Obviously exactly as I saw it at the time.

Uluru Magic

The bottom of the rock was carved out and looked like a whale tail.

The bottom of the rock was carved out and looked like a whale tail.

Wave in the Cave

Wave in the Cave. And my husband. (!)

Whale Tail

Whale Tail

Looming!

Looming!

